Immigration to small and remote towns in Alberta

Immigration to small and remote towns in Alberta

This is a separate immigration program where Alberta targets rural and remote towns with a population of up to 100,000 people. To apply for permanent residency through this program, you need to:

  • have a contract for ANY job, whether skilled or unskilled.
  • have ANY work experience for at least 12 months within the last 18 months.
  • Minimum education – high school.
  • Have a separate letter from the local community (community designation).

For this stream the following is not allowed:

  • online work or for a business registered at home IS NOT ELIGIBLE.
  • THIS PROFESSIONS ARE NOT ALLOWED: judicial workers, musicians, artists, singers, farm workers (there is a special program for them).

Language requirements are MINIMAL - level 4 or 5 out of 10. Regions participating in this immigration program:

  • City of brooks (including town of Bassano, village of Duchness, county of Newel, village of Rosemary)
  • City of Grande Prairie
  • Town of Whitecourt
  • Town of Taber (including: municipal district of Taber, town of Vauxhall, town of Coaldale)
  • Town of Innisfail
  • Municipal District of Smoky River (including town of Falher, town of McLennan, village of Donnelly, village of Girouxville)
  • County of Grande Prairie (including town of Sexsmith, town of Wembley, town of Beaverlodge)
  • Town of Trochu
  • Fort McMurray Wood Buffalo
  • Municipality of Jasper
  • Town of Edson
  • County of Barrhead (including Town of Barrhead)
  • Big lakes County (including Town of High Prairie)
  • Town of Hinton
  • Town of Fairview (including village of Hines Creek)
  • City of Medicine Hat (including county of Forty Mile, Cypress County, Town of Bow Island, Town of Redcliff)
  • Town of Fox Creek
  • City of Cold Lake
  • County of St. Paul (including town of St. Paul, town of Elk Point, Summer, village of Horseshoe Bay)
  • Town of Drayton Valley
  • Athabasca county (including town of Athabasca, village of Boyle)
  • Town of Slave Lake ((including: Sawridge First Nation, Municipal District of Lesser Slave River)
  • City of Lloydminster
  • City of Lethbridge
  • Town of Westlock
  • Municipal District of Greenview No.16 (including: The Town of Valleyview)
  • Town of Peace River
  • Town of Sylvan Lake
  • City of Wetaskiwin
  • Special Areas 2, 3, 4 (including: Town of Hanna, Town of Oyen, Village of Consort, Village of Empress, Village of Veteran, Village of Youngstown, Municipal District of Acadia No. 34)
  • Growth Regional Economic Development Alliance (including: Woodlands County, Town of Swan Hills, Town Mayerthorpe)
  • County of Northern Lights (including: Town of Manning)
  • Town of Bonnyville
  • Town of Two Hills
  • Lac La Biche County (including: Hamlet of Lac La Biche, Hamlet of Plamondon and Greater Region)
  • Town of High Level
  • Town of Didsbury

It works amazing for those who are outside of Canada, as during the PR application review period, they can and SHOULD apply for a work visa and start working while waiting for a decision. It is also an excellent option for applicants without higher education and with a low level of language skills.