A rating is an endorsement (addition) to your license whether it is a PPL, CPL, or ATPL

Multi Engine Rating

The Multi engine rating allows the holder to fly an aircraft with more than one engine except for multi-engine centerline aircrafts.

To obtain a multi-engine rating you need only some ground training and a flight test only.

Multi Engine Rating Centerline

Multi engine Centerline rating allows the holder to fly a multi engine aircraft where the engines are centerline instead of being on both sides of the fuselage/ hull.

The same requirements as a multi-engine rating except that it must be done on a multi-engine centerline aircraft.

Night Rating

The night rating allows the holder of a pilot license to fly an aircraft during nighttime.

In order to fly at night with passengers the holder of night rating must do 5 takeoffs and 5 landings at night in the previous 6 months, flying solo at night does not require what is mentioned above.

The night rating does not require any written exam or flight test, only night flight time (5 hours dual, 5 hours solo, achieve a total of 10h instrument of which 5 can be done accredited from PPL) requirements must be completed to be endorsed with the night rating.

Seaplane Rating

Allows the holder to fly Sea planes (float planes) opening further job opportunities for the pilot.

(IFR) Instrument Flight Rules

IFR allows the pilot to fly without any reference to the ground unlike the PPL and CPL which operates under VFR.

The holder will be trained to operate the aircraft using instruments and nav-aids such as VOR, ILS, NDB, RNAV, WAAS, etc.

Both a written exam (INRAT) and a flight test required to be endorsed with this rating.

It is well advisable to train for your IFR rating on a multi-engine aircraft to obtain a class 1 IFR which allows the holder to fly IFR on any class of aircraft.

Instructor Rating

Instructor rating gives you the privileges to conduct flight training with students towards the following ratings listed above.

This rating is one of the most common pathways to building up your flying hours fast towards airline jobs.

There are four classes (levels) of instructors:

  1. Class 4 instructor:
    Fly under the supervision of the CFI (class 2 & 1 flight instructors). Sending a student for first solo flight or flight exam needs CFI approval.
  1. Class 3 Instructor:
    Same as class 4 with the exception that you no longer need CFI signature to send students for first solo flight or flight exam.
  1. Class 2 Instructor:
    As a class 2 instructor you can become the (CFI) chief flight instructor.
  1. Class 1 instructor:
    Same as class 2 instructor with the addition of training new class 4 instructors (Can teach pilots to become instructors).